Different artistic values of wood burning in gulong kiln and modern wood burning

Issuing time:2019-04-09 08:57

Wood burning, an ancient Chinese firing technique and the most traditional way of making ceramics in China, was once considered time-consuming, laborious, outdated and almost obsolete. In modern times, with the increasing emphasis on returning to the state of nature in people's aesthetic concept, the primitive and rustic, natural and natural pottery of wood burning returned to people's vision and became a new favorite in the pottery field in recent years.

timg (1).jpg

What are the different artistic values between kiln wood burning and modern wood burning?


Firewood burning originated in China. With the development of modern industry, chai kilns were gradually replaced by gas kilns and electric kilns with higher yield. In the 1970s, woodburning pottery became popular in Japan. In the 1980s, under the influence of international wood-burning, Taiwan began to slowly find its way back to tradition. In recent years, woodburn pottery has become the favorite on the international, in Korea, even euramerican, the woodburn pottery that turns nature back to nature, straightforward and crude, more and more be liked by people place. In China, traditional Chinese pottery producing areas such as jingdezhen, jianshui and dehua have witnessed the inheritance and revival of wood-burning techniques by the new generation of pottery-makers. Today, when people pursue individuality and return to nature, wood-burning pottery will have more and more room for development.


u=1471591814,2626695655&fm=26&gp=0.jpg


  

However, in the modern sense, the pace of revival of wood-burning techniques is still relatively lagging in many places. The design and construction of kiln body should be decided by the combination of the clay materials to be fired. Only with a full understanding of the structure, kiln property and mud property of the kiln can one produce the wood-burning pottery that he likes in his heart. Same mud, because the atmosphere when firing, the structure of kiln, firing time length is different, come out the effect is different also, this is the wonderful interest place that firewood burns.


Mention firewood pottery, build water gulong kiln have to say, built around the mountain, like wolong entrenched, total length of 132 meters, is the longest currently in use, a well-preserved gulong kiln that originated in the shang dynasty bank kiln, under construction has kept more than water, has been experiencing a few hundred years, is still almost every month to burn a pottery kiln, is a "living fossil of pottery and porcelain.


Jianshui has ancient chai kilns that have been passed from generation to generation for hundreds of years. Why are there so many self-built chai kilns? What is the difference between modern chai kilns and jianshui gulong kilns?


Ancient maintain only using wood as fuel in the furnace, and in the modern sense of firewood or differentiated, more focus on contemporary firewood is firewood artist pursuit of art, is its emphasis on the atmosphere of the clay after cooked processing, like cooking, maintain the traditional uncooked rice to cook mature rice, contemporary firewood is more pay attention to the Fried rice is cooked meal process, for example eels Fried rice. The design of gulong kiln is very reasonable. It is a production chai kiln with a large volume and rapid temperature rise, which is convenient for firing a large number of pottery in a short period of time. It is mainly used for firing coarse pottery products and domestic pottery.


The burning works are the result of the collision between mud and fire. The temperature in the kiln, the length of firing time and the treatment of the atmosphere in the later kiln will all affect the quality of the wood-burning pottery. Due to the large size of the traditional chai kiln, it is difficult to strictly control the temperature and tightness in the kiln. Contemporary wood-burning pottery art pursues the beauty of naturally falling gray glaze. The longest one in jianshui ancient dragon kiln is 132 meters long, and the smaller one is about 30 meters long. Usually, only the head bunker close to the fire door has enough falling ash. In order to pursue the artistic effect, contemporary wood burning usually takes two or three days or even longer. One kiln burns 3~4 tons of wood deliberately to generate enough ash to form the ever-changing beauty of natural ash falling. Modern ceramist in pursuit of firewood like plain, unaware tiancheng artistic effect, the kiln body design, structure, size, the shape of the fire, the trend of the ash (dust), whole kiln temperature control can have very strict requirements, the modern firewood for firewood directly in natural greenware "mark" fire and ash glaze, color jade firewood pottery and change multiterminal, every piece of work is not to copy, this is the enchantment of the wood works, is why it gradually been a favourite collectors.


Is committed to re-present the ancestors of excellent technology in the Chinese land orthodox style and value return.
Inherit and continue the incense of Chinese architecture, and improve the ancient ceramic technology of the dragon kiln for thousands of years.

新闻详情

古龙窑柴烧与现代柴烧的不同艺术价值

发表时间:2019-04-09 08:57

柴烧是中国古老的烧制技艺,也是中国最传统的烧制陶瓷的方式,曾被认为费时、费力、落伍而几乎被淘汰。近代随着人们的审美观念日益重视回归自然状态,柴烧这种古拙质朴、浑然天成的陶器重回人们的视野,成为近年来陶器界的新宠儿。

timg (1).jpg

窑柴烧与现代柴烧存在哪些不同的艺术价值?

柴烧源自中国,随着现代工业的发展,柴窑逐渐被成品率更高的气窑和电窑所取代。上世纪70年代,日本开始兴起柴烧陶器;80年代,受国际柴烧创作影响,台湾也开始慢慢找回传统之风。近年来,柴烧陶器已成为国际上的宠儿,在韩国,甚至欧美,反璞归真、粗犷古拙的柴烧陶器,越来越被人们所喜欢。而在国内,景德镇、建水、德化等中国传统陶器产区,柴烧技艺被新一代陶艺人所传承和复兴,在人们追求个性和回归自然的今天,柴烧陶器会有越来越大的发展空间。

u=1471591814,2626695655&fm=26&gp=0.jpg


  但是现代意义上的柴烧技艺,在很多地方复兴的脚步还是相对滞后的,对于窑体的设计和建设,需要结合所要烧制的泥料来决定的,需要对窑的结构、窑性、泥性有很充分的认识和了解才能烧出自己心里喜爱的柴烧陶器。同样的泥,因为烧制时的气氛、窑的结构、烧制时间长短不同,出来的效果也不一样,这正是柴烧的妙趣所在。

  提起柴烧陶器,不得不说建水古龙窑,依山而建,犹如卧龙盘踞,全长132米,是目前在用最长的一座保存完好的古龙窑,这种最早出现于商代的龙窑,在建水仍保留着多条,已薪火相传几百年,至今仍几乎每个月都会烧一窑陶器,称得上是“陶瓷活化石。

  建水有薪火相传几百年的古柴窑,为何还出现那么多的自建柴窑,现代柴窑与建水古龙窑又有何不同?

  古柴窑只能说是以柴为燃料的窑,与现代意义上的柴烧还是有区别的,当代柴烧更注重的是柴烧艺人对艺术的追求,其着重的是陶土烧熟后的气氛处理,就好比煮饭,传统柴窑将生米煮成熟饭就行,当代柴烧则更注重的是煮熟饭后的炒饭过程,比如说鳗鱼炒饭。古龙窑的设计很合理,它是生产型的柴窑,体量大、升温快,便于在短时间内烧制大量陶器,主要以烧制粗陶制品、生活用陶为主,但相对于当代柴烧陶艺,这种大体量的柴窑烧制的陶器就显得有点底气不足。

烧作品是泥与火碰撞的结果,窑内的温度、烧窑时间的长短以及后期窑内气氛的处理,都会影响柴烧陶艺的品质,传统柴窑由于体量大,对窑内温度及密封性等都很难严格把控。当代柴烧陶艺追求的是自然落灰釉的美感,建水古龙窑最长的有132米,小点的龙窑也有30米左右,往往只有挨近火门的头仓有足够的落灰,再往后,往往温度足以烧熟,但落灰不够,产生不了艺术家想要的艺术效果。为了追求艺术效果,当代柴烧往往要烧两三天甚至更长时间,一窑故意烧掉3~4吨柴,以产生足够的落灰,形成千变万化的自然落灰之美,现代柴烧是陶艺家追求回归自然的艺术之美。现代陶艺家为了追求柴烧古拙质朴、浑然天成的艺术效果,对窑体的设计、结构、大小对火的走势、灰烬走向(落灰量)、整体窑温控制会有很严格的要求,现代柴烧因柴火直接在陶坯上留下自然的“火痕”与落灰釉,柴烧陶器色泽温润且变化多端,每一件作品都是不可复制的,这就是柴烧作品的迷人之处,也是它逐渐受到藏家追捧的原因。